Carrot and the Rye

Robert Mc Coy

The animator that I chose to base my flipbook off of was the creator of Felix the cat, Otto Messmer. As I began to study the videos of Felix, Felix Saves the Day, Japanicky, The Smoke Screen, Switches Witches, and Arabiantics, I immediately saw that his animations were quick and jumpy. Even though that they were quick and jumpy the animations still had a fluid look to it, like you are able to know what is happening but still had a fast speed. Also during the videos on some frames when Felix went to grab something his arms extended a little and when Felix ran, Otto used minimal frames to make Felix move faster. From 19 – 22 my frames were too jagged and fast for some people to understand what is going on, while from frame 1 – 17 was the smoothest by the fact that the frames were easier to draw and the motion was as fast as Felix. I would be able to fix the jagged/jumping issue by moving the character slower and by not drawing his arms like noodles. At First the character was difficult to draw but after the tenth frame, I started to adapt and draw the bunny easier than before. The problem that I had drawing him was the feet, I had no clue how much I should move the feet in order for him to walk. If I moved his feet too much he would be almost running, but if his feet were closer together he would not be moving but shimmying his way over. What seemed unclear to me when animating is when he bent down to pick up the carrot, how far would his arms and body move in order to get a smooth motion instead of making his arms noodle like? What I could have done was maybe move his whole body closer to the carrot itself instead of moving just his torso and arms. How I was able to get the rabbit to seem shocked was the amount of exaggeration or emphasis in the character’s expression. As seen on frames 27 – 34 I over exaggerated his facial and body language, but I also drew an exclamation point to show that he is surprised. I also had problems with using the background correctly, for instance I drew a flower to demonstrate how far the character ran away. The problem with the flower is how far it should move compared to the character’s movements. If I move the flower too far the characters would be moving at lightning speeds, but if I move the flower to little then the characters would not be going anywhere. So I had to try an meet at the middle so at some points the characters seem to move at faster speeds than they would be moving before.

This entry was posted in Carrot and the Rye, Flipbook, Otto Messmer, Survey of Animation, Time-Based. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

